top of page

"It's All About Empowerment”- An Interview with Pole Dance

Written by Amber Turner-Brightman

For this interview, I met with Kimberly and Sarah, the President and Vice President of Pole Dance. We spoke about the stigma surrounding pole dancing as a sport, and how to get involved as a beginner.



How did you get into pole?


Sarah: I had no experience before, but I wanted to make friends so I just joined. We had a taster session and I thought it was actually quite fun, so I stayed on. Three or four years later I’m still doing it. It’s just fun!


Kimberly: My sister is into it and she did it quite a bit, so I tried a little bit at home and knew I liked it. I wanted to join a society at uni and I already knew a bit of pole and knew I liked it, and everyone looked really friendly, so I decided to join.



It’s nice to hear that someone on the committee didn’t have any experience when they joined.


Kimberly: I think most people were complete beginners- I’d only had two or three lessons at home. But I know quite a lot of people who had never done it before they joined.


Sarah: You don’t enjoy the bruises, but you enjoy the sport. That’s what I learnt.


Kimberly performing a variation of a Layback


Why would you encourage people to consider trying out pole?


Sarah: It’s just something new to try. We’re all considered whores and all of that, but it’s not about that. It’s all about empowerment, knowing more about your body and your strength. Join for that! I think a lot of people don’t join this society because of the narrative around it, but if they do, it'll show them something completely different to the stereotype. Plus, who doesn’t want to go upside down whilst gripping a pole between your thighs, you know? Who doesn’t wanna do that?


Kimberly: It’s quite a fun work out as well, and it’s a proper confidence boost getting yourself to do different things. In all the practice sessions, people are so happy when you get your next move, so it’s really supportive.


Sarah: When I first started, the teacher we had at the time only taught more advanced moves. My second lesson I was going upside down, but I only learned to do a headstand four years later. There is a lot of variety and I think that’s good for joining, you kind of see where everyone else is at. And when you finally get a move… that feeling. When I got my first headstand!


Kimberly: I just like going on Instagram and typing in ‘pole for beginners’ and stuff like that; finding a move and then working towards it. I’ve got loads saved that I’m heading for.


Sarah: Even if you try it once though and don’t enjoy it, at least you’ve tried.



So there’s a lot of different skill levels in pole. Do you need a background in fitness at all?


Sarah: Nope. I don’t think I’d been to a gym prior to joining. You just need a little bit of muscle, or something to grip onto I would say, if that makes sense? A nice bit of thigh and you’ll be fine.


Kimberly: I started after lockdown, so I obviously hadn’t been to the gym or anything. And I’m not flexible at all, and I was really worried because I thought everyone else seemed so flexible, but I’m still not at all. So no, definitely not.



How do you make your society a safe and inclusive space?


Kimberly: I would say that we’re generally quite an inclusive society and everyone is really friendly and approachable.


Sarah: We make sure practice is a fun and comfortable space rather than one that’s intimidating.



Are there any misconceptions about pole you’d like to dispel?


Sarah: On nights out, normally if I say I’m from pole, you get a little bit of a comment made. Like ‘oh you’re proper kinky’ or ‘what are you into?’. Very inappropriate questions that you wouldn’t ask other sporting societies, like netball or something. There’s a lack of boundaries around that narrative which is not a fun thing to have when you say you’re in pole.


Kimberly: Everyone kind of assumes we’re all strippers, which I’ve got nothing against, but we’re all looked down on definitely.


Sarah: I don’t think we’re taken as seriously. We’re in the sporting field as well, but when we’ve had interactions with other societies, because it’s not playing a game and it’s your own thing, it’s not taken seriously. Dance is taken seriously- in dance you have a variety, and I don’t understand why when you add the word pole in front, it changes everything. The treatment we get is crazy. I was once told that if you’re doing pole you must dress sexy, but it’s up to you how you dress. If you wanna go out in a suspender set and a bra, you do that.


Kimberly: But anyone can do that in any society.



I think there’s definitely a misogynistic element to the things people say. Do you agree?


Sarah: I reckon it comes from men going into strip clubs, because personality-wise there is no set personality for a stripper. So it’s just the narrative around it, and for sure it’s from a guy’s standpoint. Granted we do still get girls who judge us, but I wanna say the reaction I’ve had from guys and girls is different. Guys are more like, ‘sexy’, whereas girls are more judgemental. There’s definitely a gender difference. Guys kind of view it as more of a ‘positive’ thing, if you can make what they say positive, whereas girls see it as more negative.


Kimberly: I feel like, even if boys think it’s more positive to be a stripper, they still definitely view the society and as being less than the others. They don’t see us as a sport, when pole can actually be really hard.



What kind of events are you planning for this academic year?

Sarah: Purple Wednesdays! Otherwise, we’re working out taster sessions at the moment. We have practice sessions each week that people can come train at. Sober socials are going to be included more so we can have more members who don’t drink or enjoy clubbing get involved. In December we’ll be hosting a charity competition where our members are paired with willing members of other societies, and they put together a routine to perform. It’s been so fun to see people’s routines and raise money during past competitions.



What does a session at pole look like?


Kimberly: The sessions are just where members practice what they’ve learned at their lessons. You book lessons with an external teacher, and then the practice sessions are included in the membership and take place at the Union. So they’re quite chilled: we have music on, everyone’s really supportive and friendly. You just practice any moves you want to work on, work on routines if you want, and everyone will help spot. It’s quite fun and an easy place to talk to people and make friends. I really enjoy the practice sessions to be honest.



What would you say to someone who has never done pole before, but is considering trying it out?


Sarah: Prepare for bruises, that’s my main one. I didn’t expect to have as many, and they still shock me. I also think, on our social media a lot of people are in their kit to train, like sports bras and pants, but you can wear whatever you feel comfortable in. That’s something I really think people need to know. I’ve been going four years and I still wear a t-shirt. People need to feel comfortable. Pole does make you feel more comfortable in your own body’s abilities as well, because it’s like, ‘oh shit I can hold myself upside down? Look at me go!’ kind of thing.

Kimberly: I think the most important thing is just to try it and go for it. Because you’re more than likely going to enjoy it, but you don’t know until you try. It is just really fun, and anyone can do it. There’s not a set body type or person who can do pole. It’s open for everyone.


Sarah: In the classes, there are so many varying body types and degrees of experience. It’s all abilities.


Kimberly: There’s so many moves and all of them have so many different variations. Everyone has different skill sets and different muscles that are stronger, so there is always something for everyone.



Pole Dance is £25 to join for the year, which gives you access to weekly training sessions and external lessons. You can sign up via their Union page or find more information on their Instagram page.

 

About the Author: Amber Turner-Brightman (they/them)


Hi, I'm Amber, EIC! I'm an MA Journalism student with an undergraduate degree in Politics and International Relations. I'm particularly interested in current affairs and societal trends.


Comentarios


bottom of page