top of page

Artist Portfolio: George Wilson

Written by George Wilson

Once a month, Spyglass will showcase the work of a talented local artist. This month features our incredible Head of Design, George Wilson, whose diverse work consists of portraits, sketches, and anime-inspired fanart.



The subject matter for my art admittedly tends to be fanart of whatever my interests are at the time. However, I have found that doing fanart, especially of anime and/or manga, has actually improved my artwork by a great deal and helped me to get better at proportions. Many aspects of my style are simply those I have learned from other incredible artists- most of my current style and character design taking heavy amounts of inspiration from Hirohiko Araki (JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure) and Takehiko Inoue (Vagabond).




In these sets of images I have a mix of older and newer work; some unfinished pieces; and in numerous styles. Art is an ever-evolving form, and being able to look back on what I've done and compare it to what my style looks like now is one of my favourite things about it.




My goals as an artist is to eventually be able to improve my art to the level where I’m comfortable to take more commissions, such as the Millenium Rod tattoo design (centre on image number 1). Being able to showcase my work with the magazine and on social media is an unbelievably valuable part of being an artist as it has the potential to draw in people from all over :)




Although I haven’t posted on it for a while, you can find some of this artwork and some others on my Instagram here. For most of the art shown, I used an iPad Pro 10.5 and 1st gen Apple Pencil.

 

About The Illustrator: George Wilson (he/him)


Hi, I'm George. I am a third year Film Production student, aiming to do an MA in Illustration and I am the Head of Design for Spyglass. In my free time I enjoy video games, digital art and anime :)



(This piece was edited by Amber Turner-Brightman)

Comentários


bottom of page