top of page
Kearin Green

An Interview with Vincent Pericard, the co-founder of Portsmouth’s WhatsUp App

Written by Kearin Green

This piece was originally published in Pugwash Magazine on 23/05/2022.


Vincent Pericard has an impressive amount of credentials behind his name. He’s a University of Portsmouth alumni, a former professional football player, a Company Success Manger and Personal Development Coach. He’s also the co-founder of the Whatsup app; something he made so students could get more mental health support than he was able to access when he developed depression earlier in his life.



Vincent Pericard


The UK is currently experiencing a mental health crisis, worsened by the recent pandemic and recession. However, the availability of mental health support for students has always been a problem, The tragic suicide of Natasha Abrahart demonstrates the failures of universities to accommodate students’ mental health issues.


Vincent believes younger generations are still “suffering in silence and not able to receive support”. When he was at his worst during his professional football career, he says he felt extremely isolated. “I had depression at the time and was very afraid to talk about it. I was afraid of the criticism I would get if I spoke about what I was experiencing. I wanted to be able to just pick up the phone and talk to someone and tell them I’m not okay. I just wanted to be able to be honest, and not be judged for saying that”.


To help tackle these problems, he developed an app exclusively for Portsmouth students. WhatsUp provides students with direct, confidential mental health support via text messages to the Student Wellbeing Service. It also offers a mood tracker, personal journal, and has access to contacts in times of crisis. In spite of all this, Vincent already has more planned- he aims to offer community support and allow students to create their own support groups within the app.


The app has been a success for students for almost a decade now. It’s clear how much it has helped students who didn’t know who to turn to.


Vincent is thrilled how much it has done for the students. “I made something I’m extremely proud of,” He says. “I’m just happy to know that I was able to change people’s lives in their darkest moments. I would like the app to be available to students all over the UK. That’s my next goal.”


Based on what I’ve learnt about Vincent in this interview, I have good faith that if that’s his next goal, he will make it happen.


 

About The Author: Kearin Green (she/her)


Hi, I’m Kearin and I am the magazine’s Welfare Officer! I am a second year Film Production student and am currently committed to using our support platform to give mental health a louder voice at our university. I also write about cinema, political issues, humour pieces and whatever comes to mind.


(This piece was edited by Amber Turner-Brightman)

Comments


bottom of page